Carrozzeria Bertone

1912

In 1912 the ingenious cartwright Giovanni Bertone (1884-1972) founded his workshop for the production and design of car bodies under the name Carrozzeria Bertone. His first order in 1921 was a torpedo from SPA (Società Ligure Piemontese Automobili, acquired by Fiat in 1925). The elegant car was based on the two-seater SPA.
Like its competitor Zagato, the renowned body builder worked for various automobile manufacturers in Germany and abroad. Bertone’s vehicles were always among the most beautiful in terms of performance and style. Companies such as Lamborghini, Lancia, Citroën or BMW had Bertone bodies designed. For Alfa Romeo, the body forge designed the futuristic Alfa Romeo BAT (1953/1955), the Giulietta Sprint (1954), the stylish Alfa Romeo Carabo (1968), the Montreal (1966) and in 2010 the prototype Pandion.
In the 1950s, Bertone vehicles symbolised elegance, avant-garde and good taste combined with innovative technology. The Alfa Romeo Giulietta Sprint Specialist with its futuristic, aerodynamic appearance reached a top speed of 190 km/h. The coachbuilder had formed a sports car from a classic family limousine, the Giulia 1900. Due to his high performance, he officially wore the stigma “unacceptable” – which did not diminish his enthusiasm for the car. The weakened version, the Giulietta Sprint, represents a breakthrough for the company. Alfa Romeo originally planned only a small series, but in the period from 1954 to 1965 more than 36,000 vehicles ran off the production line.
In the 1970s, the Italian company astounded with an extreme sports car, the Lancia Stratos 0, an uncompromising vehicle, 90 centimetres high, the passenger compartment only accessible through a hinged windscreen. The driver himself was trapped between the front wheels. Lancia changed the Bertone concept and turned the Stratos 0 into the Stratos HF. The extremely successful racing car won the 1974,1975 and 1976 World Rally Championships.
Bertone developed into a trendsetter with its sports car dreams produced in the 1980s and 1990s. The company also experimented with alternative energies such as electric cars. Spectacular was the ZER (Zero Emission Record), a single-seater with a battery-powered engine, which reached the unbroken top speed of 300 km/h until today.
At the end of the 1990s, the first dark clouds appeared on the horizon. With the death of Nuccio Bertone in 1997, a slow death began. The company got into financial difficulties and in the middle of the 2000s it was forced to sell the factory in Grugliasco to the automobile manufacturer Fiat. However, the design studio remained independent and was able to stay afloat for the time being. In 2008, Carrozzeria Bertone filed for bankruptcy for the first time, but will save itself until 2011 by selling exhibits from the Bertone Museum. Despite all efforts, the final end could no longer be averted. The closure of the Carrozzeria Bertone in 2014 marked the end of an era of 102 years of aesthetic masterpieces. The best car designers in the world had worked for the company, including such illustrious names as Giogetto Giugiaro and Marcello Gandini.

Related vehicles

1942 Alfa Romeo 6C 2500 Super Sport Bertone 915516
1954 Alfa Romeo 1900 Sport Spider
1954 Alfa Romeo Giulietta Sprint
1957 Alfa Romeo Giulietta Sprint
1958 Alfa Romeo Giulietta Sprint Veloce AR1493E06924
1958 Alfa Romeo Giulietta Sprint AR149307801
1959 Alfa Romeo Giulietta Sprint
1959 Alfa Romeo Giulietta Sprint AR149308906
1960 Alfa Romeo Giulietta Sprint Veloce "Corsa" 21764
1960 Alfa Romeo Giulietta Sprint
1960 Alfa Romeo Giulietta SS 00215
1962 Alfa Romeo 2000 Sprint
1962 Alfa Romeo Giulia Sprint
1963 Alfa Romeo 2600 Sprint AR826326
1963 Alfa Romeo 2600 Sprint AR821559
1964 Alfa Romeo Giulia Sprint GT
1964 Alfa Romeo 1300 Sprint
1965 Alfa Romeo Giulia Sprint GTA AR613274
1965 Alfa Romeo Giulia Sprint GTA AR613162
1965 Alfa Romeo Giulia Sprint GTA AR613369
1965 Alfa Romeo 2600 Sprint AR854316
1965 Alfa Romeo Giulia Sprint GTA AR613115
1966 Alfa Romeo Giulia Sprint GT Veloce AR241192
1966 Alfa Romeo Giulia Sprint GT Veloce
1967 Alfa Romeo Giulia Sprint GT Veloce AR249727
1967 Alfa Romeo Giulia Sprint GT Veloce AR247347
1967 Alfa Romeo GT 1300 Junior AR1211425
1967 Alfa Romeo Giulia Sprint GT Veloce AR250872
1967 Alfa Romeo Giulia Sprint GTA AR613943
1967 Alfa Romeo Giulia Sprint GT Veloce
1968 Alfa Romeo 1750 GT Veloce
1968 Alfa Romeo GTA 1300 Junior AR775774
1969 Alfa Romeo Giulia Sprint GTA AR848003
1969 Alfa Romeo GT 1300 Junior AR1239123
1969 Alfa Romeo GT 1300 Junior AR1235785
1970 Alfa Romeo GT 1300 Junior AR1256334
1970 Alfa Romeo GT 1300 Junior AR1246641
1970 Alfa Romeo GT 1300 Junior AR1236774
1971 Alfa Romeo Montreal AR1425276
1971 Alfa Romeo 1750 GT Veloce
1971 Alfa Romeo 1750 GT Veloce AR1532704
1971 Alfa Romeo GT 1300 Junior AR1275453
1971 Alfa Romeo GT 1300 Junior AR1262079
1971 Alfa Romeo Montreal AR1425329
1972 Alfa Romeo 2000 GT Veloce AR2426528
1972 Alfa Romeo Montreal AR1425365
1972 Alfa Romeo 2000 GT Veloce AR2432421
1972 Alfa Romeo Montreal AR1427137
1973 Alfa Romeo GT 1600 Junior AR2201462
1973 Alfa Romeo GT 1600 Junior AR2200887
1973 Alfa Romeo Montreal
1974 Alfa Romeo 2000 GT Veloce AR2445203
1975 Alfa Romeo GTA Junior Stradale AR776139

Carrozzeria Bertone

1912

Im Jahr 1912 gründete der geniale Stellmacher Giovanni Bertone (1884-1972) seine Werkstatt für die Herstellung und das Design von Karosserien unter dem Namen Carrozzeria Bertone. Bei seinem ersten Auftrag 1921 handelte es sich um einen Torpedo von SPA (Società Ligure Piemontese Automobili, 1925 von Fiat übernommen). Der elegante Wagen basierte auf dem zweisitzigen SPA.
Wie sein Konkurrent Zagato arbeitete der renommierte Karosseriebauer für verschiedene Automobilhersteller im In- und Ausland. Bertones Fahrzeuge befanden sich bezüglich Leistung und Stil stets unter den schönsten ihrer Art. Unternehmen wie Lamborghini, Lancia, Citroën oder BMW ließen Karosserien von Bertone entwerfen. Für Alfa Romeo konstruierte die Karosserieschmiede unter anderem den futuristischen Alfa Romeo BAT (1953/1955), die Giulietta Sprint (1954), den stylishen Alfa Romeo Carabo (1968), den Montreal (1966) und 2010 den Prototyp Pandion.
In den 1950er Jahren symbolisierten Bertone-Fahrzeuge Eleganz, Avantgarde und guten Geschmack in Verbindung mit innovativer Technik. Die Alfa Romeo Giulietta Sprint Speziale mit ihrer futuristischen, aerodynamischen Optik erreichte eine Höchstgeschwindigkeit von 190 km/h. Aus einer klassischen Familienlimousine, der Giulia 1900, hatte der Karosseriebauer einen Sportwagen geformt. Aufgrund seiner hohen Leistung trug dieser offiziell das Stigma „untragbar“ – was die Begeisterung für den Wagen nicht minderte. Die abgeschwächte Version, die Giulietta Sprint, bedeutet den Durchbruch für das Unternehmen. Alfa Romeo plante ursprünglich nur eine Kleinserie, in der Zeit von 1954 bis 1965 liefen jedoch mehr als 36.000 Fahrzeuge vom Band.
In den 1970er Jahren verblüffte das italienische Unternehmen mit einem extremen Sportwagen, dem Lancia Stratos 0. Ein kompromissloses Fahrzeug, 90 Zentimeter hoch, der Fahrgastraum lediglich durch eine aufklappbare Windschutzscheibe erreichbar. Der Fahrer selbst saß zwischen den Vorderrädern eingezwängt. Lancia veränderte das Bertonekonzept stark und machte aus dem Stratos 0 den Stratos HF. Der überaus erfolgreiche Rennwagen gewann die Rallye-Weltmeisterschaften 1974, 1975 und 1976.
Zum Trendsetter entwickelte sich Bertone mit seinen in den 1980er und 1990er Jahren produzierten Sportwagenträumen. Zudem experimentierte das Unternehmen mit alternativen Energien wie Elektro-Autos. Spektakulär war der ZER (Zero Emission Record), ein Einsitzer mit batteriebetriebenem Motor, der die bis heute ungebrochene Spitzengeschwindigkeit von 300 km/h erreichte.
Ende der 1990er Jahre zeigten sich die ersten dunklen Wolken am Horizont. Mit dem Tod von Nuccio Bertone 1997 begann ein langsames Sterben. Das Unternehmen geriet in eine finanzielle Schieflage und sah sich Mitte der 2000er Jahre gezwungen die Fabrik in Grugliasco an den Automobilhersteller Fiat zu verkaufen. Die Designschmiede blieb jedoch unabhängig und konnte sich vorerst über Wasser halten. 2008 meldete die Carrozzeria Bertone erstmals Insolvenz an, rettet sich jedoch bis 2011 durch die Veräußerung von Ausstellungsstücken des Bertone-Museums. Trotz aller Bemühungen ließ sich das endgültige Aus nicht mehr abwenden. 2014 endete mit der Schließung der Carrozzeria Bertone eine Ära von 102 Jahren ästhetischer Meisterleistungen. Für das Unternehmen hatten die besten Autodesigner der Welt gearbeitet, unter anderen so klangvolle Namen wie Giogetto Giugiaro oder Marcello Gandini.

Zugehörige Fahrzeuge

1942 Alfa Romeo 6C 2500 Super Sport Bertone 915516
1954 Alfa Romeo 1900 Sport Spider
1954 Alfa Romeo Giulietta Sprint
1957 Alfa Romeo Giulietta Sprint
1958 Alfa Romeo Giulietta Sprint Veloce AR1493E06924
1958 Alfa Romeo Giulietta Sprint AR149307801
1959 Alfa Romeo Giulietta Sprint
1959 Alfa Romeo Giulietta Sprint AR149308906
1960 Alfa Romeo Giulietta Sprint Veloce "Corsa" 21764
1960 Alfa Romeo Giulietta Sprint
1960 Alfa Romeo Giulietta SS 00215
1962 Alfa Romeo 2000 Sprint
1962 Alfa Romeo Giulia Sprint
1963 Alfa Romeo 2600 Sprint AR826326
1963 Alfa Romeo 2600 Sprint AR821559
1964 Alfa Romeo Giulia Sprint GT
1964 Alfa Romeo 1300 Sprint
1965 Alfa Romeo Giulia Sprint GTA AR613274
1965 Alfa Romeo Giulia Sprint GTA AR613162
1965 Alfa Romeo Giulia Sprint GTA AR613369
1965 Alfa Romeo 2600 Sprint AR854316
1965 Alfa Romeo Giulia Sprint GTA AR613115
1966 Alfa Romeo Giulia Sprint GT Veloce AR241192
1966 Alfa Romeo Giulia Sprint GT Veloce
1967 Alfa Romeo Giulia Sprint GT Veloce AR249727
1967 Alfa Romeo Giulia Sprint GT Veloce AR247347
1967 Alfa Romeo GT 1300 Junior AR1211425
1967 Alfa Romeo Giulia Sprint GT Veloce AR250872
1967 Alfa Romeo Giulia Sprint GTA AR613943
1967 Alfa Romeo Giulia Sprint GT Veloce
1968 Alfa Romeo 1750 GT Veloce
1968 Alfa Romeo GTA 1300 Junior AR775774
1969 Alfa Romeo Giulia Sprint GTA AR848003
1969 Alfa Romeo GT 1300 Junior AR1239123
1969 Alfa Romeo GT 1300 Junior AR1235785
1970 Alfa Romeo GT 1300 Junior AR1256334
1970 Alfa Romeo GT 1300 Junior AR1246641
1970 Alfa Romeo GT 1300 Junior AR1236774
1971 Alfa Romeo Montreal AR1425276
1971 Alfa Romeo 1750 GT Veloce
1971 Alfa Romeo 1750 GT Veloce AR1532704
1971 Alfa Romeo GT 1300 Junior AR1275453
1971 Alfa Romeo GT 1300 Junior AR1262079
1971 Alfa Romeo Montreal AR1425329
1972 Alfa Romeo 2000 GT Veloce AR2426528
1972 Alfa Romeo Montreal AR1425365
1972 Alfa Romeo 2000 GT Veloce AR2432421
1972 Alfa Romeo Montreal AR1427137
1973 Alfa Romeo GT 1600 Junior AR2201462
1973 Alfa Romeo GT 1600 Junior AR2200887
1973 Alfa Romeo Montreal
1974 Alfa Romeo 2000 GT Veloce AR2445203
1975 Alfa Romeo GTA Junior Stradale AR776139